The Crucible
Reading the White Mage message boards, the boogeyman lurking in the back of every healer's mind seems to be the Labyrinth of Onzozo. "Oh, it's terrible. The toramas are constantly paralyzing and silencing the tanks. Stay the hell out of there at all costs."
I partied there today, and I'm forced to conclude any White Mage who doesn't like it there is a complete and total pussy. I don't understand their problem, because the toramas telegraph the status ailments they're about to inflict. Any halfway-decent mage paying the slightest bit of attention should know "The torama readies Blaster" means you should start casting Paralyna and "The torama readies Chaotic Eye" means you should start casting Silena. They only cast them on the tank, so it's not like you're trying to erase three or four damage dealers the way you would when a crab uses Bubble Shower.
![]() |
| Fighting toramas in Labyrinth of Onzozo. |
"Not my Ninja," I said. "I've got the ailments cured before she knows they've landed."
Onzozo, it seems, is the crucible which divides the good White Mages from the bad. My experience there only confirms what I've always believed: I'm a damned good White Mage.
The Onzozo party eventually disbanded and I later found myself partying in Bibiki Bay with the same Ninja tank and the same Red Mage (albeit with a different person controlling the character). We fought the birds which fly around for insanely fast and easy experience points, and we did that for hours with a revolving-door cast of characters. Waiting for replacements was the only time we stopped; everything else was constant Experience Chain 5.
I made it from 60 to within 5k of 62 when I finally quit because was tired and starting to minor mistakes. I'd rather quit before I level than be the guy who dumps a party as soon as he levels. It just seems rude to do that.
"I'd forgotten what a good experience points party was like," I told the linkshell. "This makes up for a lot of shitty ones."
It probably looked like Bizarro World to them, considering I was getting experience points and Neyla was the one fishing. I'm ready to start knocking out levels, though. As the master of delayed gratification, I put everything on hold to get my Lu Shang and bring my fishing skills where I wanted them. Now that I can easily pull in at least a million gil a week, I want to take my White Mage to 70 and learn Raise III.
I'll obviously be taking short breaks to fish enough to buy a Penitent's Rope, to complete rank and Zilart missions and to level my Black Mage and Summoner jobs...but otherwise I'm taking White Mage to Level 70 in a way that will seem surreal to anyone (like Neyla and Quieren) who thinks I've just been spinning my wheels the entire time.




