Acute,
 |
| Quieren stopped by to tank for awhile. |
the guy buying all the gavials I can catch these days, is a Lv. 75 Thief. He was in Beadeaux to camp a Valkyrie's Mask, so I asked him if he'd be in the mood to help me and Neyla farm some coffer keys. Mostly I was hoping to party up with him so we could leech his Treasure Hunter ability, but he came to the four-way intersection room to help us kill them after the NM popped and didn't give him anything good.
I hate camping the intersection room. The quadav are clustered together and like to link, the larva aggro you every time you rest so you're always having to clear them out, and you have to go through the gauntlet of Mutes and Afflictors just to get there. It's very annoying. We had early deaths when Neyla had three quadav on him and I threw out some Cures.
"I can handle two," Neyla pointed out, "but not three."
We even managed to drag Queiren away from leveling Black Mage for awhile. He came out as Paladin to join us, but made it clear he was waiting for a party invite and would leave if it came through. Mostly he wanted a Water IV scroll; there was a tarutaru Black Mage soloing the quadav in the room with us, and he was probably after the same thing.
Quieren also invited a Dark Knight along who needed a testimony. I had to run out and Sneak his cheap ass to camp because he didn't have oils -- he couldn't afford oils, but he'll probably spend more buying supplies for his Maat fight -- and got to be annoyed by the Mutes and Afflictors all over again. If Sneak had dropped in a bad place, I probably would've let him die.
Quieren took off for his party, and I finally got a key a little while later. Acute had another thirty minutes before he had to leave for gods, so we killed a few more. That's also when we found out the Dark Knight needed the testimony from the Adaman Quadav and started chuckling because we weren't going anywhere
near that freakin' thing and his buddies. To his credit, the DRK stuck around until Acute had to leave. I teleported them out and then started working my way back into Beadeaux so Neyla and I could duo the quadav in the large room away from the intersection.
It
 |
| They're more relaxing as a duo. |
was a
huge improvement. First, we weren't constantly being drained of our MP keeping the melees alive because of all the damage they take. Second, the pace was less frenetic and stressful. We've developed a good rhythm for when we duo, and frankly I was glad to have the others well out of it.
Hell, at one point Neyla brought back three coffer mobs and we didn't have any problems taking them down, even with my accidentally smacking one with my hammer and waking it up.
"And you said you couldn't handle three at once," I laughed.
We finally decided to call our NPCs on the grounds that, by the laws of comedy, the use of the signal pearls would probably be wasted by an immediate key drop. The quadav were stubborn, though. We gave up and resolved to leave when the NPCs left. Neyla cut loose with a Chainspell series of Thunder nukes on the last mob -- something I'd never really seen in action before -- and we were amused to see the key drop. It seems comedic rules were simply biding their time.
We added some tweaks to our duo methods, too. I have a macro geared toward Neyla's Convert which hits my Divine Seal and targets him for Cure V. I stripped out the Light Staff equipment swap so all he has to do is apply a fresh Stoneskin and Convert in the middle of battle. I can give him full HP without losing TP for Hexa Strike and we don't have to stop.
I think I'll add a Blink macro, too. I tend to steal hate with Hexa Strike, so a few shadows would give Neyla plenty of time to regain control of the mob. It's a testament to our partnership that I don't get too worried about stealing hate on a Decent Challenge mob.
Maybe I should start leveling Ninja. WHM/NIN could be a lot of fun, I bet.